The Clarke Award Shortlist Includes Some Great Surprises

The Clarke Award Shortlist Includes Some Great Surprises

The UK’s Arthur C. Clarke Award have announced its six book finalists for 2016 — and the result is a combination of books you might not expect, and books you probably haven’t read yet.

Here’s the list of finalists:

  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet — Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Europe at Midnight — Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
  • The Book of Phoenix — Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Arcadia — Iain Pears (Faber & Faber)
  • Way Down Dark — J.P. Smythe (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Children of Time — Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor)

These were chosen out of a pool of 113 books. Award director Tom Hunter said:

This is a quintessentially Clarke Award kind of a shortlist. Look once and I’m sure everyone will see a choice they agree with. Look twice, and you’ll likely see a new book you want to read next. Look a third time though, and I hope you’ll see how well all of these six books sit together, and how they represent a particular special moment in time for UK science fiction. In other words, like all great books, this is a shortlist that rewards the more you read into it.

Top: Cover detail, Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky

The Cheapest NBN 50 Plans

It’s the most popular NBN speed in Australia for a reason. Here are the cheapest plans available.

At Gizmodo, we independently select and write about stuff we love and think you'll like too. We have affiliate and advertising partnerships, which means we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. BTW – prices are accurate and items in stock at the time of posting.