Squid Game Makes History (Again), This Time at the Emmys

Squid Game Makes History (Again), This Time at the Emmys

As Awards season continues, Squid Game supremacy is nigh. The Netflix-produced dystopian fiction show has continued to show up to award shows ready to eliminate the competition, and they have continually done so. The popularity of this show is unmatched, and frankly, they deserve every award.

At the Emmys this year, Squid Game was nominated for Best Drama Series, Jung Ho-yeon, Park Hae-soo, and Oh Yeong-su were nominated for supporting actor awards, respectively. Lee Jung-Jae won Best Lead in a Drama Series, making history for as the first Asian lead to win an Emmy for a non-English show. He’s also set to star in Star Wars’ The Acolyte next year.

As reported over the weekend, the Creative Arts Emmys showcased a lot more genre nominees and winners, including Arcane, Marvel’s What If… , and Moon Knight. You can view the full list of nominees and winners on the Emmys’ site, but the major categories and winners are below:

Drama Series

  • “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
  • “Euphoria” (HBO)
  • “Ozark” (Netflix)
  • “Severance” (Apple TV+)
  • “Squid Game” (Netflix)
  • “Stranger Things” (Netflix)
  • WINNER: “Succession” (HBO)
  • “Yellowjackets” (Showtime)

Comedy Series

  • “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
  • “Barry” (HBO)
  • “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (HBO)
  • “Hacks” (HBO)
  • “The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
  • “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)
  • WINNER: “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  • “What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)

Limited Series

  • “Dopesick” (Hulu)
  • “The Dropout” (Hulu)
  • “Inventing Anna” (Netflix)
  • “Pam and Tommy” (Hulu)
  • WINNER: “The White Lotus” (HBO)

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

  • Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)
  • Brian Cox (“Succession”)
  • WINNER: Lee Jung-jae (“Squid Game”)
  • Bob Odenkirk (“Better Call Saul”)
  • Adam Scott (“Severance”)
  • Jeremy Strong (“Succession”)

Lead Actress in a Drama Series

  • Jodie Comer (“Killing Eve”)
  • Laura Linney (“Ozark”)
  • Melanie Lynskey (“Yellowjackets”)
  • Sandra Oh (“Killing Eve”)
  • Reese Witherspoon (“The Morning Show”)
  • WINNER: Zendaya (“Euphoria”)

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Donald Glover (“Atlanta”)
  • Bill Hader (“Barry”)
  • Nicholas Hoult (“The Great”)
  • Steve Martin (“Only Murders in the Building”)
  • Martin Short (“Only Murders in the Building”)
  • WINNER: Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”)

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel”)
  • Quinta Brunson (“Abbott Elementary”)
  • Kaley Cuoco (“The Flight Attendant”)
  • Elle Fanning (“The Great”)
  • Issa Rae (“Insecure”)
  • WINNER: Jean Smart (“Hacks”)

Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

  • Colin Firth (“The Staircase”)
  • Andrew Garfield (“Under the Banner of Heaven”)
  • Oscar Isaac (“Scenes From a Marriage”)
  • WINNER: Michael Keaton (“Dopesick”)
  • Himesh Patel (“Station Eleven”)
  • Sebastian Stan (“Pam and Tommy”)

Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

  • Toni Collette (“The Staircase”)
  • Julia Garner (“Inventing Anna”)
  • Lily James (“Pam and Tommy”)
  • Sarah Paulson (“Impeachment: American Crime Story”)
  • Margaret Qualley (“Maid”)
  • WINNER: Amanda Seyfried (“The Dropout”)

Variety Talk Series

  • “The Daily Show With Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central)
  • “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” (ABC)
  • WINNER: “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)
  • “Late Night With Seth Meyers” (NBC)
  • “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” (CBS)

Competition Program

  • “The Amazing Race” (CBS)
  • WINNER: “Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Big Grrrls” (Amazon Prime Video)
  • “Nailed It!” (Netflix)
  • “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)
  • “Top Chef” (Bravo)
  • “The Voice” (NBC)

Television Movie

  • WINNER: Chip ’n Dale: Rescue Rangers (Disney+)
  • Ray Donovan: The Movie (Showtime)
  • Reno 911!: The Hunt For QAnon (Paramount+)
  • The Survivor (HBO/HBO Max)
  • Zoey’s Extraordinary Christmas (The Roku Channel)

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

  • Patricia Arquette (Severance)
  • WINNER: Julia Garner (Ozark)
  • Jung Ho-yeon (Squid Game)
  • Christina Ricci (Yellowjackets)
  • Rhea Seehorn (Better Call Saul)
  • J. Smith-Cameron (Succession)
  • Sarah Snook (Succession)
  • Sydney Sweeney (Euphoria)

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

  • Nicholas Braun (Succession)
  • Billy Crudup (The Morning Show)
  • Kieran Culkin (Succession)
  • Park Hae-soo (Squid Game)
  • WINNER: Matthew Macfadyen (Succession)
  • John Turturro (Severance)
  • Christopher Walken (Severance)
  • Oh Yeong-su (Squid Game)

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Alex Borstein (The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel)
  • Hannah Einbinder (Hacks)
  • Janelle James (Abbott Elementary)
  • Kate McKinnon (Saturday Night Live)
  • Sarah Niles (Ted Lasso)
  • WINNER: Sheryl Lee Ralph (Abbott Elementary)
  • Juno Temple (Ted Lasso)
  • Hannah Waddingham (Ted Lasso)

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Anthony Carrigan (Barry)
  • WINNER: Brett Goldstein (Ted Lasso)
  • Toheeb Jimoh (Ted Lasso)
  • Nick Mohammed (Ted Lasso)
  • Tony Shalhoub (The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel)
  • Tyler James Williams (Abbott Elementary)
  • Henry Winkler (Barry)
  • Bowen Yang (Saturday Night Live)

Want more Gizmodo news? Check out when to expect the latest Marvel and Star Wars releases, what’s next for the DC Universe on film and TV, and everything you need to know about House of the Dragon and Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power.

The Cheapest NBN 50 Plans

It’s the most popular NBN speed in Australia for a reason. Here are the cheapest plans available.

At Gizmodo, we independently select and write about stuff we love and think you'll like too. We have affiliate and advertising partnerships, which means we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. BTW – prices are accurate and items in stock at the time of posting.