Here Are The Finalists For The 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Here Are The Finalists For The 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Each year, the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction awards one worthy science fiction novel the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, one of the genre’s major awards for novels.

The finalist list this year is particularly strong, with some truly excellent novels represented:

  • The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi (Orbit/Knopf)
  • Europe at Midnight, Dave Hutchinson (Rebellion)
  • Radiomen, Eleanor Lerman (The Permanent)
  • Luna: New Moon, Ian McDonald (Gollancz/Tor)
  • Galapagos Regained, James Morrow (St. Martin’s)
  • Going Dark, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island/Saga)
  • The Book of Phoenix, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW)
  • Where, Kit Reed (Tor)
  • The Thing Itself, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • Aurora, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Seveneves, Neal Stephenson (William Morrow/Harper Collins)

This year’s recipient will be announced on Thursday, August 18th at the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, MidAmericon II, which will be held in Kansas City, Missouri on August 17th through the 21st.


The Cheapest NBN 50 Plans

It’s the most popular NBN speed in Australia for a reason. Here are the cheapest plans available.

At Gizmodo, we independently select and write about stuff we love and think you'll like too. We have affiliate and advertising partnerships, which means we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. BTW – prices are accurate and items in stock at the time of posting.